top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedieutran

Sing

From a young age, I have always been interested in the world of music. I took singing classes for nine years and musical theater classes for five years. I would tell myself that I was in love with singing and performing but I never knew the exact reason why.



When I began my internship at Oltre I Sogni in Italy, an organization that actively uses music therapy and art therapy for adults with disabilities, I finally understood why I love music so deeply and passionately.



I watch all the individuals sing their hearts out to songs blasting through the speakers. They sway their hips and tap their feet to the rhythm. They laugh and bond with each other. Music was therapeutic. It allowed everybody to forget every day stresses and brought those who either loved or hated each other together.




Research states that music therapy addresses physical, emotional, cognitive, and social needs of individuals. Through my own first hand accounts, I understand this to be true. Disabilities in this facility range from mild to severe. They stretch as far as physical to cognitive. Despite the inability to maintain balance, hear, or speak every individual used the power of music to use their voices, create a beat with their hands and feet, and produced a smile that shined brighter than the Southern Italy sun.



Music is more than just a sound. It restores emotion, gives us passion, instills motivation to be confident in whatever we pursue, and allows us to connect with each other.

Music gives us a voice. It gives us a second chance. It heals us all.


bottom of page